Get taken for a ride... at Dead Broke Farm

6921 Wildlife Trl, Raleigh, NC 27613

(919) 596-8975

handsome fullwidth

Customer Reviews

Add A Testimonial
JeanMarie Vinecourt
2021-06-27, 19:08
Last month I bought a second horse from Carla at DeadBroke Farm. She is so very special, I feel so fortunate to have found such a fabulous older horse, and boarding her at DeadBroke is the perfect way for me to spend all my spare time with her while knowing she is well cared for.
Hollie
2021-06-25, 15:52
This is our daughter's second time attending summer camp and has really enjoyed her experience. She even told us she can't wait to come back next year. Thanks Ms. Jean for all you did!!
SeniorFloridaRider
2021-06-21, 17:40
My second review! As I told the owner, I am taking ideas back to our local rescue ranch from her facility. I want to see them implemented down here. Only suggestion I have is to make it more apparent that they have ice water available for riders: most would be more than happy to pay for a bottle to carry on the ride. Have a great Summer!!
Rosanne
2021-06-20, 11:19
I was pleasantly surprised at the accommodations, the staff and volunteers, and the horses!! Safety was obviously foremost and all the horses well trained. What a joyful event for me. Florida visitor
Angela & Mason
2021-06-19, 16:18
Trail leaders were great. Horses were gentle. Loved the trail. Woman who checked us in was somewhat rude.
Guest
2021-06-19, 16:11
Wonderful staff and great horses. Guides were very much educated and the grounds were super clean
Roberta Greene
2021-06-18, 10:14
I love this equine farm! It has tons to offer from camps, trail rides, to volunteer opportunities! My daughter has been here 3weeks for camp during 2021. This camp has brought out the most in her leadership skills, socializing skills, as well as improved her self-esteem. She has learned so much and has been given opportunities to help teach her peers about Grooming, Saddling and Tacking. We have also enjoyed rides on their trails, which are well maintained and is not all flat ground. Patience is a must as there are many volunteers that help to run the farm and sometimes you get first time volunteers that are learning the ropes as well. They are always welcoming every time we’ve arrived, Mrs. Jean the head counselor is amazing with the children giving them opportunities to grow with independence and soft but firm rules and guidance. The horses are well kept and so far I have not seen or had a bad experience on this farm! Thank you for your services!
Darius Johnson
2021-06-15, 16:07
10/10 great time very nice people had lots of fun
Guest
2021-06-15, 16:04
We had a great time on the trail ride. The horses looked well taken care of and the guides are very knowledgeable of the trails.
Donovan
2021-06-15, 16:02
Amazing ride, super tame horses, and amazing scenery. Definitely reccomend and would definitely come back.
Gil
2021-06-13, 19:08
Took my family (including my 2 year old great-granddaughter) there about 2 weeks ago. We did an hour long ride. Wonderful experience. The male guide she rode with was great. Held her the whole time. Horses were well behaved. Thick, wooded forest made for a nice cool ride, even though it was a warm day. I’d do the ride often if I lived in the area, but I was visiting from the west coast. Thank you Dead Broke Farm for an amazing experience.
Guest
2021-06-05, 18:55
Matthew and Ashley were amazing they were very patient with me and my group would highly recommend
Jamyah Jones
2021-06-05, 18:55
Was a great experience. Mathew and Ashley was so patient with our group. So many people in group were 1st time riders. We had a great time. Would recommend even for beginner's.
Destiny
2021-04-30, 16:02
I came alone, really needed a getaway and that’s exactly what I got. Kierra my instructor was amazing, and very informative. Everyone at the ranch was amazing. My horse tommy was very calm and sweet I’ll be back to ride for sure!!
Chuck DiPerri
2021-04-25, 22:49
We had the opportunity to ride Rose and Matilda on a trail ride and they were both amazing, they followed direction , as a 1st time rider they were easy to work with and they were both very sweet. We enjoyed them so much we booked another ride with both of them before we flew home. The Trail guides were absolutely amazing as well, they interacted with the group and kept us busy and well informed.
Evelynn
2021-04-23, 14:18
I had a really good time riding at dead broke farms the horses are really nice and they even let you run a little bit the instructors are also really helpful and know exactly what there doing
Byron Campbell
2021-04-23, 14:14
Thoroughly enjoyed our time at Dead Broke Farms...the private ride was very relaxing and fun...thank you Ally for the private ride you gave to me and my family. Definitely coming back for more fun and enjoyment
Colleen Campbell
2021-04-23, 14:12
This place has the nicest people working with the amazing horses they have and they love what they do. Don’t hold you back from the experience of being in the country and riding. Thank you guys will definitely come back and have done 5 trips here and it’s always amazing.
Fannie Aguon
2021-04-22, 12:42
Alleigh was Awesome and a great guide.. I enjoyed Cheddar.
Guest
2021-04-21, 13:55
Great experience. Alleigh was awesome. Very knowledgeable and she made the trip great!! Frank is the best and very helpful with everything.
Ellen Darst
2021-04-21, 13:12
Had a wonderful trail today! Great, calm horses. Safety oriented!
Joy K Goodson
2021-04-14, 20:51
Today Was awesome for my mom’s birthday..she enjoyed her self to the fullest and we will be returning soon for my daughter’s birthday.
Guest
2021-04-03, 19:48
I came here for my birthday and I really in joyed it! Very good for beginners and kids
Guest
2021-04-03, 19:47
I went here for a birthday and I really in joyed it. It was a good place for beginners and kids!
Ruth Cefola
2021-04-03, 15:00
The horses and guides were all amazing! Even when we were early getting back, they still were very calm and helped us by giving a “tour” of the farms and country. Thank you guys!
Jasmine B
2021-03-21, 17:25
I had an AMAZING time at dead broke farm! The staff was SUPER friendly and i had sooo much fun! we will def be back!
Kimberly Ann
2021-03-10, 17:12
Truly enjoyed my experience every thing was top notch and I will return as much as possible
Stacy
2021-03-06, 16:36
First time to Dead Broke Ranch, great ride!! Very helpful, friendly guide! Had a wonderful time! Will be back!
Kim Vasquez
2020-12-29, 17:01
My Boyfriend and I went for a group 1 hour trail ride. The team there was very kind and professional. They helped many of the beginner riders get through the trail safely which I think is important! No worries if you are a beginner rider or 1st time rider. You are in good hands. The trail is super nice with some uphill and downhill challenges which made it exciting. Horses are very well behaved and easy to ride. I had the time of my life there and highly recommend it to anyone looking to be out in nature, stay Covid safe and looking to try horseback riding. For more experienced riders definitely spend the money to do a private ride. In a private ride you can ride a little faster. Loved this place and will definitely come back again. Book ahead of time to guarantee your space. It’s so good and they are busy. Thank you Sundance and Tommy (the horses we rode) and of course to the team at Dead Broke Farm.
Sharmaine
2020-12-29, 16:36
I love coming to DBF the staff is always welcoming and loving. The horses are such sweet gentle giants and the scenery is just beautiful
JeanMarie
2020-12-24, 07:03
Wonderful Decision!!! I recently purchased an older horse from Carla, and now board him there. The experience has been especially rewarding, I get constant support from everyone working there and love my horse, my new companion.
Hartman
2020-12-07, 14:07
Our family came to the farm to celebrate our son’s birthday. He has special needs, and the staff went above and beyond to accommodate him and ensure his safety. The 2 hour ride was delightful as we ventured through the woods. It was a great experience.
Stephanie & Denise
2020-11-28, 16:33
This was my first experience with riding a horse. The staff was very professional and knowledgeable. Courtney & Gabby were our guides and nothing short of AH-MaZing!! Dead Broke Farms should be everyone’s first experience. The scenery is absolutely gorgeous!
Thanks for a kind ride Buck Shot & Gold Rush!
Drea & Doug
2020-11-19, 17:49
Went for a 1 hour guided tour today and it was fantastic. The property is beautiful, the horses are sweet and the guides are fun & professional. The whole experience was amazing. Can’t wait to return. Would ask for Brandon & Dakota again as guides. A+++++++++++
Mike
2020-10-18, 09:35
We took a trail ride yesterday for our twins birthday. We all had a great time!
Omolola Sanusi
2020-09-20, 11:21
Came out during the weekend for a friend's birthday. The experience was really lovely, and I enjoyed witnessing the teens/preteens helping out and leading different parts of the introductions. Go Sadie and go Blanche!
Charlotte grimes
2020-08-22, 22:00
I want to personally thank all the ladies at Dead Broke Horse Farm, for today, I celebrated my 57th birthday on August 18, and I wanted to ride a horse for one of my gifts. Today I had a great time, and my horse was very kind to me, I will recommend others to this place. All their staff were kind and polite to me - even when i messed up. Once again, thanks to everyone for today.
Liz B
2020-08-20, 20:36
The horses are sweet, the trail is nice, and the owner, Carla, is incredibly knowledgeable about horses. She works hard right alongside her staff and volunteers to ensure a safe ride for her customers. She's tough on them, but it's necessary to ensure that none of their mistakes or oversights make it out onto the trail where the consequences could be dire. My hat's off to her for making her horses available to the general public and riding herd over her help to ensure a safe riding experience for everyone.
Esther
2020-08-16, 19:25
I need to let you know that we planned going to the farm on a weekend family outing, and it was so good!!!! I have been living in NC for 7 years, and I didn't realize that we have this special leisure place. Use your summer time to come. After a marvelous ride, we realized that our spirits were fed. The staff is amazing, they are pretty flexible and helped us to have a great experience. It's really affordable, by the way. I would absolutely recommend it.
Antonio
2020-07-31, 15:58
For my very first time doing this, everyone was so nice and patient. I will be back soon!
Kaylee Gail Robbins
2020-07-23, 13:08
Best horse camp I've been to, I enjoyed everybody there and loved the trail rides. I was happy doing everything. I absolutely loved grooming and getting to know everyone, I had never been to a weekly camp before, only 2 or 3 days at a few different camps. The horses were sweet and make me laugh. I hope to go next summer if I get the chance. Ms. G was amazing and made me laugh as well. I hope to go next summer and am sad to leave.
Laurie Stalnaker
2020-06-26, 20:01
People I’m here to tell you, this farm was the most amazing place. I haven’t ridden in quite a while and all the girls there made me feel so confident. It was like riding a bike again. It all came back. I want so much to purchase Little June who I rode today. The trails were amazing and so easy to do. Thank you so much ladies and a big shout out to all who work for Dead Broke Farm. We will be returning!!!!
Deborah Lutz
2020-06-14, 07:48
After several months of looking for a horse that my granddaughter and daughter in law could ride together or alone I came across DBF. I look at horses they had for sale and read the comments on each one. I then contacted Carla whom spend many calls on the phone to pick just the right one. I then went to the farm to ride the chosen horse. I was greeted by a very nice young lady and then taken on a trail ride. Keep in mind that I am an older rider with arthritis and not really able to get on without help. Everything was provided for me when I arrived. I purchased the horse that day and surprised them both on Saturday after the ride. Not only did my horse arrive on time but with all documentation of the horse came too. Ms. Carla was the one whom delivered and really helped me out with a horse that I already have on the farm. We had not been able to get him to move for us and she got right on took him on a short ride and he behaved. Now I too can ride and I am very excited. I recommend this farm, horses, horse buyers and you can be assured you will enjoy the ride. Thank You Carla and Staff. You have changed the life of one very horse loving little girl. A day she will always remember.
Jane Pettit
2020-06-05, 13:08
Carla went out of her way To help me and my horse through a very stressful situation. She could have easily just ignored me but she didn't. She is the most caring, honest , authentic horse people I've met. Many, Many, Thanks Carla You were truly a blessing... J. Pettit
Amber
2020-05-07, 16:07
Carla contacted me and came out to look at some horses I had for sale. She looked them over and purchased 2 of the 3, the 3rd horse had possible soundness issues. Carla took him back to her farm on a “trial” basis so she could work with him a little more closely to see if she could use him on her farm. After having him about 3 weeks she contacted me to let me know he could only be used for head leading young kids, a pasture mate, or therapeutic riding. I was disheartened because I wasn’t sure I’d be able to find him a forever home, so I asked Carla if she knew anyone who could use him for any of that and within 2 days she found him a home! Carla was very honest, friendly and personable with me throughout the whole process and she was very good about keeping me updated and informed. I went to visit the horses she purchased from me and they looked so happy and healthy as did all of her horses. It is easy to tell she prides herself in her work and her horses. Her staff was very friendly as well and they greeted us as we got there and let us visit with the horses as long as we wanted. It was a pleasure meeting Carla and I would highly recommend dead broke farms to anyone who is looking to purchase a horse or anyone who is looking for a guided trail ride.
BJ Warner
2020-02-02, 20:34
I am so grateful that I found this farm where i could count on truthful assessments about the horses. They worked with me to find the right suitable equine partner. Thank you!
Tammy Jo
2019-12-20, 18:57
We love this place! Got a great horse from them, and she is so awesome. Thanks Carla!
Nicole A.
2019-10-31, 04:05
I can not praise this place enough. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable and most importantly patient. they treat you like you are family. The horses that they provide are healthy and everything that Carla says they are. She will be my go to place from now on.
Drew Strickland
2019-10-19, 21:10
The best people make the experience that much more fun! Such a well organized operation with all of the chaos. We will definitely be back. Thanks team!
Guest
2019-08-21, 15:02
We had a great morning trail ride! We had one child that was 7 and one child who was 4. Both had an excellent time and were asking when they could go back. The 4 year old rode with a guide and had a great experience. Horses were calm and easy to ride for inexperienced riders. We will be back!
Joey
2019-08-13, 16:04
I love this farm it's an amazing place to come
Fam.Diaz
2019-08-04, 08:46
Awesome experience! Friendly staff and fun ride
Jordana
2019-07-20, 16:20
Our 8 yo daughter spent a week at the DBF camp. When she started the week she was very skittish and could not bring herself to take a ride without lots of tears. At the end of the week I decided to join her for part of her day at camp. She was quick to show me the donkeys and miniature ponies. She introduced me to each one as she walked around petting their noses; previously she would always keep a little distance. On the trail ride i saw a little girl that had overcome her fears and seemed comfortable around the horses and confident on the trail.
Could the camp have a fancier club house or more activities, sure. But you can always ask for more. What I thought was important is that my daughter had a fun week, made some friends and overcame some fears. In my opinion that was a good return on my investment. A big THANK YOU to Carla and the rest of her friendly staff.
Barb Crissman
2019-07-17, 18:25
My family had a blast and truly enjoyed our riding experience.
Brad and the ranch hands helped my grand daughter feel comfortable on her first solo ride. She even gave us loud
yahoo on the way back in to the barn. Loved every part of our ride and can’t wait to go back!
Guest
2019-07-15, 08:31
Me and my daughter took a 2 hour private ride. Cowboy did a great job. Had a fantastic time !!!!
April K
2019-06-29, 17:17
We LOVED our experience at Dead Broke Farm. The staff were awesome, the horses well cared for, and the surroundings gorgeous. So crazy to experience such a retreat just miles from Raleigh. Highly recommend!
Jacob A.
2019-06-28, 10:08
This week was our daughter's third summer at the farm. Once again she had a wonderful experience! Very thankful for everyone at the farm. She can't wait to get back later this summer!
Lori
2019-05-27, 18:24
My son and I took an hour trail ride today. We had a fantastic experience. The leader was very informative and helped refresh our horse experiences, teaching fundamentals of handling her horses. My horse was easy to handle and we will definitely be back!

Thank you Dead Broke Farm for a great experience.
Sara
2019-05-20, 19:15
We went for an hour trail ride the other day and had so much fun! It was such a nice ride and the horses are so beautiful and amazing. We had a 5yr old who was riding with a guide and Maddie was so great. Can’t wait to go again hopefully soon!!
Camper
2019-03-23, 14:22
I've loved this place since i was six. They have grown and now, I still ride the first horse i had ever rode(Amber). Best camp ever.
Cassandra
2019-02-17, 10:40
I have been going to Dead Broke Farm for many years. They truly care for their horses! If your looking for a summer camp for your kids, this is a great place to send them! Or even just a simple afternoon ride, they got you covered! An amazing place, that I will be continuing to go to for many more years to come!
chuck
2019-02-12, 12:57
Nice facility and nice horses too! If you're looking to ride or purchase, give Dead Broke a try.
  • White Horse for Hindu Indian Weddings
  • Horseback Riding in Raleigh, NC
  • Cremello Horse Ridden on Trails
  • Grey Horse Ridden by Little Girl in Raleigh

Email Us

If you have questions about any of DBF's services, please email us.

Customer Reviews